Challenge 1

In the group the I met with yesterday we decided to have some challenges that we would give each other once in a while, just to make things more fun.

This is a great idea, and the first challenge was to draw a cartoon character as a human. As I am still learning some of the basics and not fully able to draw well without a reference, I chose to use a picture for reference again. The picture I chose was Timon in human form from the image below (original by Fernando Mendonca):

  
I went ahead straight away and it was very exciting and felt more creative than usually. I had just bought some new colored pencils, so I was also itching to try those out. I can definitely recommend them (Pablo pencils).

This is my rendition of the image above:

  
I think it went very well and I tried out some different techniques like the pressure of the colored pencils in different places, which acted as a sort of shading. Also, highlighting the edges of the pants worked out well, but i could not do that with the face because the skin pencil (not a Pablo, just one I found), wasn’t soft enough to be able to give a deep enough color to highlight the edges.

All in all I think this turned out very well! 

Leave a comment